Summertime!

7 06 2011

Welcome to summer, everyone! 🙂

I’ve been in summer mode now for about a month, which means that I’ve basically screwed up my day-to-day routine (or had it screwed up or something like that) and I’m still wandering around the house mostly aimless. It’s good and bad. There are days, not many, but more than a few, where I’m on the computer for about an hour in the morning and that’s it for the whole rest of the day. Some days, I veg in front of the thing all day long. Others I’m running around with the kids all day. I’m busy, having fun, confused and bored all the same time. Aimless. Like I said, it’s good and bad. Anyway the wind blows, doesn’t really matter to me. That is summer. (No, I haven’t killed…. yet.)

I’ve also been trying, sometimes more successfully than others, to unplug from the internet and clear my head from reading the news all the time and being a complete slave to my RSS reader. When there’s nothing keeping you busy, it’s pretty easy to get outraged by every little thing. Like, this one time, I was reading a blog, and there was this guy there and he was totally wrong about something. On the internet. The nerve of it. Yeah, so it was time for me to shut ‘er down for a bit and find something more constructive to do with my time.

Meanwhile, real life continues apace and we’ve bought a house and haven’t yet closed on it, which is a source of much excitement and stress and worry. They make it look like so much more fun on TV. I hope to live in the house now for another 60 years or so (that’d make me 97, which I think would be a respectable showing in the longevity game), just so we don’t have to go through moving again. Although, I will say that I’m looking forward to having an office with a door on it, my own personal man-cave of higher learning, and to unpacking all my books again and putting them on bookshelves and being home again. My first post on this blog had to do with packing my books up, so I’m stoked at undoing that. Unfortunately, it won’t be happening until late in July.

One more really bad thing that I have to confess: I haven’t been reading anything. Nothing at all. I’ve been on a complete reading break. I finished reading Freedom about a month ago and I was completely blown away. It’s as good as everyone says, no question. It seriously is. The consequence is that I’ve let it work itself out in the back of my head for a few weeks and haven’t really felt like following it up with anything. Meanwhile, some books are stacking up because I don’t stop collecting things to read ever, even if my output goes to crap. I imagine a lot of that will change soon, though and I’ll get back in the swing. I’d like to write up my review of Freedom at some point, and I sketched out some notes, but I don’t know if I’ll get to it and, realistically speaking, does the world really need another review of it? Feel free to pick from the other billion or, better yet, just go get your hands on a copy and read it. Time well spent.

I have, however, started another new project: a new blog devoted to all things German. I mostly intend for the blog to be a place for me to consolidate materials and ideas that I’d like to discuss with anyone who is interested in German culture or language in a way that’s simple enough for a learner. Mainly, it’s a way for me to consolidate in my mind anything that I find of interest or any thoughts I might have that are related to German studies, German language, theater, art, music, food, culture, news, teaching, teaching materials and the like. I am a German teacher, I need to devote a good chunk of mental energy that direction and keep myself honest, and that’s going to be my place to share ideas and advocate for the study of German in all of its beautiful, sexy and apparently completely unfunny glory. I’ve decided to call this blog: Deutsch Schmeutsch. Still working on links and on an about page, but that’s all coming soon.

Otherwise, this weekend and for the next week we’re off on vacation! It’s very exciting and I’m looking forward to a little bit over a week of sunshine, beach, screaming children, good food, drinking beer in the afternoon and just not stressing about anything for a time. So, completely unshockingly, I’m just going to come right out and say that there probably won’t be a blog update between this Friday and about June 22 or so. Try not to cry.

Actions

Information

One response

26 06 2011
Ruthie

Congrats on the house! That’s great news, even if it isn’t quite as wonderful as TV would have us believe. Also, love your Deutsch-Schmeutsch thing – I might direct some students there next year if you don’t mind. Hope your summer is approaching some kind of normalcy. I’ve just promised to get ‘that-which-should-not-be-named’ finished over the summer, and am now hyperventilating about the whole thing – you might get a barrage of panicked emails from me after I get back from my hols! Hope you’re all well xx

Leave a Reply

