Resolutions (finally)

6 01 2011

I finally wrote all of my resolutions down this morning, obviously a few days late. It’s looking pretty ambitious. I went from having 21 goals for 2010, and I achieved easily more than half of those, to 31 for this year, divided into 10 different categories. To give a little example:

  • Family and marriage goals include taking the kids out at least once a week to something educational, keeping a standing Saturday night date with the wife, etc.
  • Health goals include making it to the gym (on about the same schedule I currently am on, so it should be an easy one), to cutting down on the number of “cheat” meals per week
  • Writing goals to include setting aside time to work on professional freelancing, fiction writing and regular dissertation time, plus one anti-goal: “Do NOT participate in NaNoWriMo.”
  • Reading goals including dramatically increasing the number of books I’ll read this year and keeping better track of them. I’m going to add a sidebar on this page, for example.
  • Personal and Spiritual goals like setting aside time to just think and plan (i.e., planning to plan) and to volunteer my time more often.

To which I have also a number of other goals that I’ll keep private, such as our financial plans for the year.

It’s probably too ambitious, but I figure if I hit half of them, I’ll be doing really great, though all of them are good goals to have. I should also plan time to sleep while I accomplish all of this, but alas one must make cuts somewhere. As far as this blog is concerned, writing and reading will be the big focus and it’s one I’m particularly looking forward to. I will, however, be trying to get a minimum of 4 entries per week up, which is sometimes more of a challenge. I’m tempted to share the short fiction that I write, as other really impressive writers on the internet do, but I’m just too guarded about it and keep it pretty close to my chest. Maybe, if something really strikes me as ready for the public eye. We’ll see.

Anyway, it’s a good morning, very little to do right now and I’ve had a successful week. It should be smooth sailing until Sunday when I really kick things off. I’m looking forward to it.

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 01 2011
Anthea

If you shoot for the stars and fall short, you might still reach the moon. 🙂

1 02 2011
Where did January go? « Pew Pew Crash Crash

[…] know, for someone who started off the month and the new year with a couple posts about resolutions, fresh starts and plans, I failed to accomplish much during January. I’d like to attribute it […]

Leave a Reply

