NaNoWriMo Day 3

3 11 2010

Was up and at it early this morning and it felt really good. Total opposite picture from yesterday. And aside from a little distress from the old digestive system thanks to Chicken Vindaloo last night (oh man, so awesome, btw), I feel pretty good.

I did feel a little stress and there were a few points where I actually said out loud, “Wow, this is really crap!” but there are words on paper that I cannot wait to delete and replace with something that sucks about 10,000% less. In fact, it was today’s chunk of writing that really convinced me that nobody, not nobody, not no how is going to be reading this one. What utter shit.

I’m worried, too, about this weekend since we’re on the road. I really don’t want to fall behind, but we’ve got birthday plans for my son and we’ll be out of the house all weekend. I will probably spend the day outlining in greater detail what I intend on writing and when and maybe (aww, who’m I kidding?) I’ll write some more and try to get a little ahead.

But hey, almost 1900 words this morning and my wife’s not even off to work yet.

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 11 2010
mARTy

Congrats on reaching today´s goal! Keep writing:)

4 11 2010
elirosswriter

The demands of the real world make hitting those daily goals a challenge, but you can generally make up for lost days. But, for heaven’s sake, don’t delete anything until December! The main rule of NaNo is NEVER REREAD–certainly no more than the last 2-3 paragraphs you wrote, just to get a running start on the day’s writing. Revising is for NaNoReYrs, and you’ll have tons of time for it. So don’t worry if it’s shit or crap or just-plain-old the worst thing you could ever imagine putting onto paper. Keep writing, and trust that at some point you’ll pull yourself out of the mire and create some good stuff as well. BTW, I think I’ve deleted about 40% of last year’s novel, and I’m pretty happy with what I have–still shopping for an agent, but I remain hopeful!

Leave a Reply

