Distractions

13 10 2010

Sorry for the lack of posting the past couple days and this is bound to be a bit of a disappointment, too. I’m having some serious productivity issues around here right now, most of it caused by the never-ending Beatles concert that we’ve been having. It turns out you really, really can get too much of a good thing and, boy howdy, am I ever there. I’ve probably listened to a subset of about 3 songs (especially Help!) around 983,234.56 times in the last two weeks. Nobody needs help like I need help.

If it’s not that, it’s just been that there’s always being overwhelmed by all of the piddly shit and constant distractions to getting anything done, which makes me feel worse about what I’m doing (and failing to do) and it’s a bit of a vicious cycle. The answer is clearly to plan better, but there’s just not much time to carve out.

Putting aside the anti-Beatles sentiment for a second (and I’m sure it’s passing anyway, but damn these kids latch on to things), there’s this in my head:

Out of college, money spent

See no future, pay no rent

All the money’s gone, nowhere to go

Any jobber got the sack

Monday morning, turning back

Yellow lorry slow, nowhere to go

But oh, that magic feeling, nowhere to go

Oh, that magic feeling Nowhere to go

Except for the magic feeling kind of sucking right now, that’s where I live at the moment as I try to balance the parenting responsibilities with trying to contribute financially and still stay productive creatively.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

