Civilization V is out today

21 09 2010

And because of this, I’ll probably not be blogging much (or writing or reading or sleeping or eating) until Thursday (maybe Wednesday, but we’ll see). I know a few of my friends will also be very much in Civ-mode for the next few days, complete with sagging productivity and withdrawn participation from everyday life, fractured marriages and neglected children. Over here, it’s also a game that Holley loves and since my computer’s the only one that can run it, there’ll be squabbles and ugliness.

If you’ve never played one of the Civ games or just aren’t a fan of that sort of thing, it’s perhaps harder to understand, but for those of us who do love it, it’s amazingly addictive and compelling. The Take-Two store even has CivAnon t-shirt, coffee mugs and posters. The tutorial/trailer video posted on the website mentions, after watching 13 minutes of various how-to’s and new features, that it is at this point that you look up and find that it’s 3 o’clock in the morning (perfect deadpan, by the way, so massive kudos to the geeky narrator). It’s fun. That’s an established fact.

It’s definitely easy for me to get lost in being the big boss (who would’ve thunk it?), taking over the world and spending inordinate amounts of time micro-managing everything that you can do in these games which, played beginning to end, can last a couple days if you let them. Hopefully, the older, wiser me has learned a bit more restraint, but somehow I doubt he’ll be around today. Check in tomorrow. For today, I geek out immoderately and I am trying very hard to get everything that needs to be done, including workout, done by 10 a.m. For once, my stupid insomnia pays off because I woke up hours before I planned to.

I always play very diplomatically and I’m not overly aggressive until I have a good science lead. Then, just before resources get short, that’s when I make my move. Also, I always play as zee Germans first. Shocking, ich weiß.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

