Book Due Date

20 09 2010

I opened up my email yesterday and found a notice from the library that the copy of Alexandr Solzhenitsyn’s One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich is due today. Now, the essential problem that I always face is that I tend to walk out of the library with really good intentions and far more books than I’m going to be able to read. I’m also guilty of being pretty ambitious about some of my selections. This is one of those cases where I decided to pick up a classic along with about 5 other books and just never got around to it.

Now, the book isn’t especially long, only about 180 pages or so and it’s big type and I could read it pretty quickly, but the due date email always prompts a choice. Do I surrender and return it unread? Do I renew it (again and again)? Do I sit down and read the damn thing?

I’ll just go ahead and confess now that it’s probably going to just get renewed and put back on the desk, but I find resisting the due date hard. When I notice the email early, like a few days in advance, I like that it makes me want to find that ambitious version of me who was in the library and wants to do so much more than sit on the couch and watch TV. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

It being a Monday, I’m also planning on re-evaluating my big ass life schedule. I need to make some tweaks this week, since I’ve been less than incredibly productive the last two. It might, then, give me a bit of a kick in the butt to read Ivan Denisovich here and remind me that the past two weeks could’ve been worse. They can always be worse. Mondays are about new starts.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 09 2010
Anthea

I guess my question here would be “Why do you want to read it?”

If reading the book serves a personal goal, that’s awesome, keep working towards it! But if you mean to read it just because it’s a classic and maybe you ‘should’ read it, then it might not be worth having one more thing on your to-do list…

I should probably take my own advice, and get rid of some of the non-fiction books I own that look neat, but that I haven’t read in the many years I’ve had them… or just sit down and read them.

20 09 2010
robdougherty

Oh, it’s something I definitely want to read. I read fairly indiscriminately and across the whole range. Of course, there are other books that I have to read and don’t want to, but this doesn’t fall under that heading. Shame there’s only 24 hours in a day.

Leave a Reply

