Discipline Fail

23 08 2010

This is an ironic post. It’s ironic because the topic I had intended to blog about today had to do with setting a goal, sticking to a schedule and maintaining discipline and the wonders that that could accomplish. It unfortunately didn’t work out that way, due to oversleeping, a power outage, forgetting, getting distracted and then just a lack of energy at the end of the day when I finally did remember that I had planned on posting something, anything, to keep my goal.

My goal is to write something on this blog at least once a day for as long as I can keep that up (Sundays excluded). That shouldn’t be too hard because I really do have a backlist of topics and themes and links that I’d like to write something about and I keep that along with all of my other notes, so I consult and add to it far more frequently than I can actually find the time to write. I also happen to enjoy doing this quite a bit and it feels really good to stick to a goal and meet it every day.

I’m not counting this post, however. This is a little bit too much like filler and isn’t what I wanted to write about today. I didn’t schedule my time correctly and didn’t react. So, the post on discipline is coming, most likely tomorrow when I pick the goal back up. This post, rather, is just a little reminder of the discipline failure that hit me today. Which isn’t to say I didn’t accomplish anything. On the contrary, I got a lot done, worked on some job stuff, read a little and made it to the gym but I moved off the time plan and the net result was less than intended.

I’ll tell you what, though. I have learned to schedule my free time and I’m solidly in it right now as I write this. I decided, among other things, as I was re-evaluating my life and changing my guiding rules and principles that one thing I’d never do again is feel guilty for taking time for myself after I’ve put in a day. So, this is going up because it’s fun and I like doing it. Tomorrow will be different and will have an actual post.

Actions

Information

One response

24 08 2010
Anthea

“…that one thing I’d never do again is feel guilty for taking time for myself after I’ve put in a day.”

If you hadn’t said it, I would have suggested it. 🙂 Goals are good, but not everything, and I think it’s good to forgive yourself and get back on the horse.

(And I would totally count this as a post.)

Leave a Reply

